I'm Simon Haynes, programmer and author. Welcome to my website.

Subscribe to my newsletter

Become a Patron!
The Hal Spacejock Series (Teen/Adult)

Hal Spacejock 01 cover art (c) Bowman Press

Ebook and Paperback

Buy Now on Amazon

Buy Now from Kobo (epub)

Hal Spacejock by Simon Haynes (Book one in the series)

An incompetent space pilot, a massive debt and a twenty-four hour deadline...

Hal Spacejock is a cargo pilot with supreme confidence in his abilities. He picks and chooses his clients with care, and refuses to work for gun runners, drug smugglers and politicians.
Unfortunately, Hal's pickiness results in no customers, no work, and no hope of paying off the huge loan on his precious ship.
When a debt collector kicks in his airlock door and threatens his life, Hal promises payment then grabs the nearest cargo job and blasts off ... without reading the fine print.
Can he deliver the freight and pay off his debt, or is this Hal's first - and last - cargo job?

All Hal Spacejock books are standalones, not sequels. Read them in the original order if you can, but it really doesn't matter. There are no cliffhangers between novels.

The Hal Spacejock series is perfect for fans of Hitchhiker's Guide and Red Dwarf

The Hal Spacejock sci fi comedy series features robots in space, many pratfalls, british and australian humour, space travel and future history (in a distant galactic empire.) If you like Australian (or british!) style jokes and gags, you'll love this science fiction series.


Space travel


Science Fiction



Sci fi

British Humour

British Spelling

Australian Author

SF Series


First in a series

Drives on the wrong side of the road

Hal Spacejock was a Dymocks Bestseller on release (Australia-wide)

Keep up to date by following Simon Haynes on Facebook